Perygl Reviews: The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug (2013)

One film, to rule them all!

When I reviewed the first Hobbit film; An Unexpected Journey, around about this time last year, I mentioned how disappointed I was and how the film dragged, although it did have it’s highlights. I mentioned that Peter Jackson had perhaps lost his mojo despite being a terrific director. With the latest Hobbit outing, I think he has got his mojo back!

In complete contrast to my experience with the first film, I enjoyed this film from beginning to end. An action packed extravaganza with great special effects, superb set pieces, witty dialogue and superb acting from a stellar cast. The interesting thing is how the film really deviates from the book, bringing in characters that did not appear in the book and changing key plot points, but all for the benefit of the film and the series in my opinion. However, I still hold to the belief that the series…

View original post 600 more words

About Roulette Revolver

Currently a first year undergraduate in Film & Media Studies.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

